Toughsmart's Blog

Just another WordPress.com weblog

My Call to Action, Health: The Tough-Smart Way


O.K. Tough-smart nation, it’s show and tell time. Coach Dave is ready to live Tough-Smart right in front of your eyes! If you read my introductory post, you know I grew up as an élite level wrestler. Fitness is so important to me. Yet, in the past few years, I haven’t been clear at all about nutrition (in particular), stress management, hydration or sleep hygiene. My workouts, while fairly consistent, have been aimless. My Call to Action has come and I’m going to answer it. What better way to do it than using the Tough-Smart system IN FRONT OF THE WORLD? I realize we haven’t   talked about the entire Tough-Smart system yet. Don’t worry. I will be posting a chapter each week addressing a specific aspect of Tough-Smart. All the while, I plan to  show you how to live Tough-Smart.

So let’s plan my journey by entering the Smart Zone. Let’s break it down step by step. We will talk about the Tough Zone as we go:

Smart Zone Step 1: The Call to Action – My call to Action is  a very specific endpoint called: Health.  I’m talking about much more than  avoiding disease or “getting in shape. ” Put mindful nutrition, proper rest, stress management, recreation, strength training, cardiovascular training and flexibility into one bowl and you create a wonderful ambrosia called “Health.”  That is my destination. Believe me, (a picture is worth a thousand words) I have a long way to go on all those axes.

In the past five years, I have trained for wrestling competitions and  running races. I typically did well, and got fit along the way.  However,  when the event was over, my fitness gradually slid downhill. I have never specifically trained for myself: to look good, to feel well, to prolong my life and to enhance my existence.  I think Health is a more valuable endpoint than, say,  finishing a half marathon.

Smart Zone Step 2: The Nerd Phase. Admittedly, I cheated on this step.  I have actually  been nerding out about health for some time. I have accessed many resources, from books on nutrition and sleep to DVD’s on running form (actually I have three separate DVD’s on running form…NERD!).  I have a head start from a knowledge standpoint. Like most physicians, however, I haven’t  consistently put that knowledge into practice. (Don’t you always scratch your head when you see a fat doctor?)

Smart Zone Step 3: Find a Coach/Find a system. Easy money. I have the best in the world at my disposal. In Tough-Smart we settle for nothing less than world-class when choosing a coach. Note that I will rarely be receiving personal instruction from these experts. One of my strengths is that I am willing to learn from a variety of media, including books,  DVD’s, and the Internet.  If you are proactive, the best advice in the world is right at your fingertips, free or very cheap.

Nutrition Coach: Body for Life – Quite simply the most sensible, practical, proven nutrition program in the world.(www.bodyforlife.com)

Cardiovascular Training: Coach Troy Jacobsen. Troy produces an array of spinning and running DVD’s (Spinnervals/Runnervals) that are not only world-class but inexpensive. (www.coachtroy.com). Spinnervals and Runnervals can be done at home, which is important to me now.

Strength Training: Anthony Dilugio. Anthony produces the Art of Strength (AOS) Dvd’s. These elegant Kettlebell and Core workouts are well designed and time efficient. The AOS series is also very reasonably priced. Yes, coach Dave is finally going to face his fitness demons and train his core like it counts! (www.artofstrength.com)

Flexibility Coach: Pavel Tsatsouline. This former Russian commando is the creator of “Loaded Stretching.” I think flexibility is too often ignored in fitness programs. God bless Yoga enthusiasts but Pavel’s  “It going to hurt. Deal with it!” approach is what I need.

Stress Management Coach: Yehuda Berg. His proactive and vibrant “Daily Tune-up” brightens my every morning by e-mail. Yehuda is the creator of the Living Kabbalah Series, author of many wonderful books and a big inspiration in my life.  I also plan to lean on Mr. Fire, Joe Vitale.  Joe is a brilliant motivational speaker and the author of many wonderful books such as “The Attractor Factor” and “Zero Limits.”  He has taught me that every stressor in my life is an opportunity to heal myself and to make the world a little better.  Joe and Yehuda have been instrumental in helping me stay in the Tough Zone.

Sleep Coach/Recreation coach: My wife, Gina. I love her so much. She takes care of our family and keeps it fun. Sleep will be a particular challenge because we have a one year old son and ANOTHER ONE THE WAY!! Sometimes acceptance is instrumental. I will do the best I can.

The Smart Zone Steps 4-7 (Hustle,  The wall,  Make it Your Own and Introspection) are aspects of my journey I can’t address until I’m in the middle of this donnybrook.  I will keep you updated along the way.

Of course, to succeed in a way that also brings personal fulfillment I will have to stay the Tough Zone. We’ll talk about the Tough Zone on the fly as well.

I will keep you updated on my journey. I’m excited. At the end of my journey I won’t just be fit, I will be the fittest.  And I’ll do it the Tough-Smart way.

I’d love to share your Call to Action. Drop me a line and we’ll talk about it.

Peace begins with me
Coach Dave

November 25, 2009 - Posted by | Tough-Smart profiles | , , , , , ,

1 Comment »

  1. I think it’s totally sweet that you shrinking your wheezer the tough smart way.

    Comment by Phil | November 26, 2009 | Reply


Leave a comment